Jul 172012

President Bob Cross receives the Natwest Cricketforce Award

Heywood CC came away with one of the top awards from the Lancashire Cricket Board’s OSCAs night at Old Trafford on Friday.

Heywood – well represented at the evening through the likes of president Bob Cross, vice-chairman John Rhodes, secretary Gwen Edwards, Dennis Booth and Bobby Cross – scooped the coveted Natwest Cricketforce club of the year award, sponsored by the ECB.

The award recognised the many efforts of the club’s great volunteers in the build up to Natwest Cricketforce Day at Crimble, which has seen the club go from strength to strength. All the news and pictures from the day, that saw, among other things, the creation of the magnificent new patio viewing and drinking area, can be viewed here http://www.heywoodcc.co.uk/category/natwest-cricketforce-2/.

The awards were presented by former England opener Nick Night – now heard on Sky Sports – and Heywood are now the LCB’s official candidates at the national awards, to be held at Lord’s on October 8.

Bobby Cross gets up for the Building Partnerships award

Bobby Cross, who was close to winning the Building Partnerships section for his efforts in the community, said it was just rewards for the efforts of so many people at the club in recent years.

He said: “The Heywood contingent had a fantastic night, we had 23 people including the president, chairman, vice-chairman, secretary, various committee members, players, groundstaff and supporters, who had helped out as part of NatWest CricketForce.

“The food was excellent, the night was enjoyed by all and we had the bonus of winning the award which was a great reflection of the hard work that so many people have put in this year in particular.

“It was great to hear so many people talking about the good things that are happening at the club.”

For a full breakdown of the evening, click here.

More to come on this, and the new nets, later this week.

Similar Posts:

 Leave a Reply



You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>