May 092018

HEYWOOD’S senior side are preparing  for another busy and vital weekend with games on Saturday and Sunday (May 12 and 13) as the season begins to hot up.

On Saturday they go to Prestwich, who have won two of their three games in the Greater Manchester Premier League.

Professional Travis Townsend returns to the side after injury but Simon Dawson and Dale Latham are unavailable. They are replaced by Kate Cross and Mikey Witts.

Then Sunday brings a trip to Bolton area side Tonge in the second round of the Royal London National Club Championship. Heywood received a bye in the first round.

The Crimble side had a fine run in the 2017 event, reaching the area final, and will have their sights set on making an impact again this season.

The rules of the competition do not allow overseas amateurs so Riley Paterson and Tom McQuinn must sit it out. Mikey Witts and Kate Cross are unavailable so Mikey Grogan, Wes Hunt, Chris Kaye and Rob Bennett step up.

The second team, meanwhile, are in buoyant mood after three successive league victories plus making progress to the second round of the Cup.

Now they face arguably their stiffest test to date on Saturday at home to Newton Heath, who are three points behind pacesetting Heywood in Division Four East.

Crimble stages another game on Sunday when the third team host Astley and Tyldesley in the first round of the Sunday Cup.

HEYWOOD 1st X1 (v Prestwich, away, Saturday, 1pm): T Townsend (capt), R Cross, A Kerr, D Pawson, S Burrill, J Morley, R Paterson, A Dawson, M Witts, K Cross, T McQuinn.

HEYWOOD 1st X1 (v Tonge, away, Sunday, Royal London National Club Championship 2nd rnd, 1pm): M Grogan, W Hunt, C Kaye and R Bennett replace R Paterson, T McQuinn, K Cross and M Witts.

HEYWOOD 2nd X1 (v Newton Heath, home, Saturday, 1.30pm):  M Grogan (capt), W Hunt, S Evans, R Bennett, C Kaye, C Booth, L Clarkson, K Nugent, J Mills, T Pagett, J Kaye. Reserve:  O Thomas.

HEYWOOD 3rd X1 (v Astley and Tyldesley, home, Sunday, 1st rnd of Sunday Cup, 1pm): R Smethurst (capt), M Hood, J O’Neill, R Purser, C Hilton, W Taylor, L Jackson, T Sullivan, J Carter, P Smith, J Kaye. Reserve: H Graham-Scott.

Similar Posts:

    None Found

 May 9, 2018  Add comments

 Leave a Reply



You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>