May 082018

HEYWOOD coasted through to the second round of the Derek Kay 1st X1 Cup with a comprehensive defeat of Moorside.

And, for the second successive day, it was the deputy professional and a 16-year-old who were the main players in the seven-wicket victory.

Harvey Hosein, a 21-year-old from Derbyshire CCC standing in for the injured Travis Townsend, can reflect on a job well done with four catches in his natural role as wicketkeeper and 30 polished runs with the bat – only succumbing trying to hit a boundary with three runs needed for victory.

Young talent Jack Morley, who took five wickets the previous day against Woodhouses, this time claimed 2-13 from 10 probing overs to tie the home batsmen in knots then followed up with an unbeaten 30 himself in a stand of 68 with Hosein.

It all added up to a comfortable and enjoyable day for the visiting supporters in glorious weather amid the picturesque Saddleworth area setting.

The Moorside batsmen never really managed to break free from the shackles of the Heywood attack once Simon Dawson had accounted for opener Jack Gartside and, crucially, home professional Gerry Snyman in his unbroken 10-over spell.

Tom McQuinn also clean bowled overseas amateur Arno Moller, and when Riley Paterson had home skipper Rick Harrington caught by Simon Dawson at third man it was 45-4 and a struggle for Moorside to post a competitive total.

Morley kept Heywood’s foot on the throttle with his miserly 10-over stint, accounting for top scorer Imran Khan (24) and Danny Anchor.

And when stand-in skipper Danny Pawson claimed three quick wickets, followed by McQuinn returning to the attack to claim the last victim, a total of 128 did not look too challenging.

So it proved, with Paterson and Andy Kerr carefully putting together an opening stand of 26 before the former unluckily snicked an onside catch to the wicketkeeper.

That brought in Hosein and he looked polished and composed from ball one, rarely lifting the ball off the ground and looking unhurried in a stand of 32 with Kerr.

It was therefore a suprise when the latter was adjudged lbw playing forward to Khan and, at 58-2, there looked to be a possible opening for the home side.

But that only brought in Morley to join Hosein and they dovetailed neatly to snuff out any further home hopes. Hosein continued in his textbook way and Morley took the opportunity to spend valuable time at the crease, the feature a couple of crunching pulled boundaries through the onside.

Just when it seemed the duo would complete the job, with three runs needed, Hosein lifted the ball in the air for virtually the first time and was well caught low down at mid-off. He looked disappointed at his personal demise, but Heywood were certainly far from disappointed in him!

And Sean Burrill ended proceedings from his second ball, smashing a big six from Snyman out of the ground.

So a job well executed by Heywood without leading batsmen Bobby Cross and Pawson getting to the crease in a rejigged batting line-up designed to give a chance to others.

The second round is on Sunday, June 17 (1pm), draw yet to be made.

J Gartside c Hosein b S Dawson 0
A L Moller b McQuinn 15
R Harrington c S Dawson b Paterson 16
G Snyman c Hosein b S Dawson 5
I Khan c Hosein b Morley 24
D Anchor c Hosein b Morley 8
A Griffiths b Pawson 18
J Whyatt c McQuinn b Pawson 4
C Taylor c Kerr b Pawson 10
M Pritchard not out 3
D Fullalove b McQuinn 3
Extras 22
Total (41.2 overs) 128
Bowling: S Dawson 10-3-29-2, T McQuinn 7.2-2-26-2, R Paterson 6-1-20-1, J Morley 10-4-13-2, A Dawson 4-0-23-0, D Pawson 4-0-11-3.

R Paterson c Moller b Fullalove 18
A Kerr lbw b Khan 25
H Hosein c Anchor b Snyman 30
J Morley not out 30
S Burrill not out 6
Extras 23
Total (for 3 wickets, 37.4 overs) 132
Fall of wickets: 1-26, 2-58, 3-126
Bowling: M Pritchard 7-0-15-0, D Fullalove 7-0–16-1, G Snyman 7.4-0-35-1, I Khan 8-1-20-1, R Harrington 5-0-24-0, J Whyatt 3-0-19-0

Similar Posts:

    None Found

 May 8, 2018  Add comments

 Leave a Reply



You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>