Jun 112018

REPORT BY STEVE McHUGH: THREE photo-finishes, two defeats and one victory. That’s Heywood Monkeys’ record in the Marston’s T20 Cup competition after falling to Royton Renegades in their latest outing.

Losing by one wicket to the visitors followed a one-run defeat against Heyside Hyenas, also at Crimble, with Heywood just getting the verdict on run rate from their rain-hit visit to Littleborough Lions in between.

Now Heywood face a trip to take on Shaw Spartans on Thursday, June 21, while the abandoned clash at home to Thornham Thunder could be re-arranged.

It means that Heywood can reach a possible maximum three victories which may not be enough to go through to the quarter-finals, with only one team qualifying out of the Group.

The Monkeys were always up against it against Royton after an insipid batting display which saw them post just 97 with two balls of the 20 scheduled overs left.

Sean Burrill with 25 and Danny Pawson, 23, threatened to make sizeable contributions, and Mikey Witts, 13, was the only other batsman to reach double figures.

Yet at 67-3 and nine-and-a-half overs remaining Heywood must have harboured hopes of getting past 120 – which with hindsight would have been more than enough – before the rest of the batting line-up folded tamely.

Royton looked in control of the undemanding run chase despite Tom McQuinn claiming three wickets from his allotted four over spell, and when they reached 59-3 with almost half the overs left they, too, looked in a strong position.

But, to their credit, the Heywood attack stuck to the task and the Royton batting also hit the buffers. Pawson, Riley Paterson and Travis Towsend claimed a couple of wickets apiece and the visitors were level on 97-9 going into the last over.

But they managed a boundary off Townsend’s second ball as the field was naturally brought in, and Heywood were left to reflect on the small margins that have cost them their two defeats in the Group.

R Cross c Joy b A Carruthers 5
S Burrill b A Carruthers 25
D Pawson b Maw 23
T  Townsend lbw b A Carruthers 1
M Witts b Maurice-Scott 13
R Paterson c Maw b Khurana 1
D Latham b Khurana 0
M Grogan c Scott b Kurana 1
D Fawcett c A Carruthers b Brown 7
T McQuinn b Maurice-Scott 2
K Cross not out 3
Extras 16
Total (19.4 overs) 97
Fall of wickets: 1-21, 2-39, 3-41, 4-67, 5-69, 6-69, 7-75, 8-78, 9-93, 10-97
Bowling: R Holder 4-0-21-0, A Carruthers 4-0-16-3, J Maw 4-0-27-1, C Khurana 4-0-17-3, L Brown 2-0-8-1, J Maurice-Scott 1.4-0-4-2

J Maurice-Scott c Witts b McQuinn 1
C Khurana c Latham b McQuinn 10
L Brown b Townsend 31
R Carruthers lbw b McQuinn 4
R Holder st Latham b Paterson 4
A Carruthers c Latham b Pawson 21
D Scott b Paterson 1
C Jewell c K Cross b Townsend 1
J Maw not out 10
C Joy c K Cross b Pawson 2
R Hadfield not out 0
Extras 16
Total (for 9 wkts, 19.2 overs) 101
Fall of wickets: 1-2, 2-35, 3-39, 4-59, 5-73, 6-76, 7-84, 8-95, 9-97
Bowling: T McQuinn 4-0-22-3, D Pawson 4-0-26-2, K Cross 4-0-12-0, R Paterson 4-0-19-2, T Townsend 3.2-0-17-2

Similar Posts:

    None Found

 June 11, 2018  Add comments

 Leave a Reply



You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>