Jan 202015

Heywood and Lancashire’s Kate Cross has been named in the England women’s touring party for the five-match One-Day International (ODI) and three-match Twenty20 International (T20I) series in New Zealand next month.


Charlotte Edwards will captain a 15-player squad, which includes England’s fast bowling unit, spearheaded by Yorkshire’s Katherine Brunt and Somerset’s Anya Shrubsole, with support from Cross (Lancashire) and all-rounders Jenny Gunn and Natalie Sciver (Nottinghamshire and Surrey).

Speaking to the ECB, Head of England Women’s Cricket, Clare Connor, said “This year is hugely important for England women, with the home Women’s Ashes series fast approaching. However, in respect of the ICC Women’s Championship and ultimately qualification for the 2017 ICC Women’s World Cup in England, this series against New Zealand carries exactly the same significance as the series against Australia later in the summer. The first three ODIs between England and New Zealand will count directly towards qualification for that World Cup, and New Zealand are a very good team, so there’s no question that this will be a tough tour.”

The first three ODIs in New Zealand on February 11, 13 and 15 at the Bay Oval, Mount Maunganui, will form England’s second round of matches in the new ICC Women’s Championship. In the first round against India last summer, England secured five out of a possible six points, after winning the first two Royal London ODIs in Scarborough, but being forced to share the points in the rain abandoned third match at Lord’s.

England and New Zealand will subsequently travel to Whangarei to play back-to-back T20Is at the Cobham Oval on February 19 and 20, before finishing the tour with the third T20I and two remaining ODIs on February 24, 26 and 28 at the Bert Sutcliffe Oval in Lincoln.

England women’s squad for tour to New Zealand 2015:

Charlotte Edwards(captain) Kent, Katherine Brunt Yorkshire, Kathryn Cross Lancashire, Lydia Greenway Kent, Rebecca Grundy Warwickshire, Jenny Gunn Nottinghamshire, Danielle Hazell Yorkshire, Amy Jones Warwickshire, Heather Knight (vice-captain) Berkshire, Laura Marsh Kent, Natalie Sciver Surrey, Anya Shrubsole Somerset, Sarah Taylor Sussex, Lauren Winfield Yorkshire, Danielle Wyatt Nottinghamshire

Similar Posts:

 January 20, 2015  Tagged with:  Add comments

 Leave a Reply



You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>